When I came across this recipe I immediately thought of Kevin. This is the kind of meal that he tells me about eating as a little boy. Well, except in his version it’s browned ground beef with a salty beef gravy served over mounds of mashed potatoes. Where gravy for Kevin is traditionally from a can, the gravy that I grew up with was a whole other creature. It was something that we had mainly on Sunday’s for supper as my Grandpa called it. Generally roast beef or perhaps roast pork were on the menu most Sunday nights. The gravy, always by Grandpa, seemed simple. Reduce down the drippings from the meat, throw in some flour, add a little water and viola – gravy. It’s one of those things that seems so simple, but that I have really yet to be able to replicate in my own house. Nothing was better than that gravy poured over some nice, soft white bread. I always had to eat my meal first, as gravy bread was a going back for seconds kind of treat. But oh, how I looked forward to it. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm gravy bread…….

I have only once attempted to make a gravy since going gluten free. The thick, sticky paste that resulted was not a success. It’s one of those things that I haven’t really tried to make since, figuring that I would eventually get around to it. And then I came across this recipe. And while the Salisbury Steak is wonderful in it’s own right, it’s the how to make gravy video that has been down right life changing. No matter if you are making regular flour gravy or using gluten free, the tutorial in this video and the technique are what it’s all about. Watch it!

What I had evidently failed to realize is that gluten free flour doesn’t react the same as regular – well duh! I mean I cook. I cook a lot. And I had realized that in other baked goods that gluten free flour was very different, but baking is fickle like that and little things make a huge difference in most baked goods. It never dawned on me that it would ever matter in a gravy that gluten free flour is different. Where a traditional roux made with regular flour is like a very thick paste, a gluten free roux is much thinner. Almost like paper mache paste or Elmers glue. Be sure to add the roux into the boiling liquid, not the other way around and you will have a fantastic gravy worthy of gravy bread.

Salisbury Steak

2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 medium onion, peeled and fine chopped (I chopped a whole onion)
1/2 cup fine-chopped mushrooms (I used more like a cup of mushrooms, maybe more)
1 teaspoon garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
1 teaspoon fine-chopped fresh sage (I used the same amount of dried)
kosher salt and cracked black pepper
1 1/2 pound ground beef
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon fine-chopped fresh rosemary (Again, I used dried and crushed it between my fingers a bit before adding to the meat)
1/2 cup breadcrumbs (We had some Glutino bread crumbs in the cupboard, otherwise I would have just whirled a few slices of gluten free bread up in the food processor)

Sautéing the mushrooms.  Bring a large sauté pan to heat. Pour in the oil. Tumble in the mushrooms, onions, and garlic. Stir them around a bit, intermittently. When the mushrooms and onions start to brown a bit, add the sage. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat. Allow the mixture to cool.

Making the steak. Combine the mushroom mixture (I used half of the mushroom mixture here and saved the other half for the gravy) with the ground beef, eggs, rosemary, and breadcrumbs. Season with salt and pepper beneath your fingers (maybe about 1 teaspoon of each. Use your own senses). Make into oblong patties, about 1 inch thick, each.

Searing the steak. Bring the sauté pan to medium-heat again. Pour in the remaining oil. Put the patties into the hot oil. Cook about 3 to 4 minutes, or until the patties have grown a lovely brown. Flip them over. Brown on the other side. Cook until you have reached desired temperature for how you like your meat cooked. (We like medium for these, or an internal temperature of about 160°.)

Serve with mushroom gravy and sautéed onions. You can also grill these, if the weather where you are allows it.

Feeds 4

