Tags

I seem to have been less than inspired to write this last week. Several times I have thought about it, and several times my eyes have glazed over in a brain fog. Anyone who says the first week back at school is rough hasn’t experienced the second week of school in my house. The second week of school marks the beginning of nightly homework, sports tryouts, and the beginning of that what seems like endless list of chores to do every evening. I mean who doesn’t want to come home after work and clean the kitchen, make dinner, repeat kitchen cleaning, make 5 lunches, a load or two of laundry and who knows what else before falling into a heap at bedtime??? Anyone?? Bueller????

Alas, that is what my evenings consist of. So in the few moments that I have, you will have to excuse me for allowing my eyes to temporarily close or my mind to wonder. I am still getting “back into the swing of things”. Just now at the beginning of week 3, I am starting to find my groove.

With the start of Volleyball practice this week, I try to make dinners things that can be cooked ahead – so it’s just reheat and eat when we get home in the evenings.

Volleyball Practice

Saturday: Chicken Nuggets and Fries with Fruit Salad  Nothing fancy or exciting there. Just coated some pieces of chicken breast with GF Flour (we use Better Batter) and a bit of Season Salt and fried them up. 

Sunday: Pork Chops with Apples and Creamy Bacon Cheese Grits, and steamed green beans  The chops with apples seemed to be a hit in our house, the grits seemed to be a 50/50 split – not sure that we will have them again, but always nice to try something new. 

Monday: Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas and green salad  This one I prepped on Sunday, cooking the chicken, sauce and assembling the enchiladas. I kept the sauce separate and will add that and the cheese at cooking time. 

Tuesday: Country Fried Steak, Biscuits with Gravy and steamed carrots  Country Fried Steak in our house equals round steaks, dusted with GF Flour and a bit of salt and pepper and then pan fried. I’m thinking I’ll use the biscuit mix from the GF “Bisquick” mix, and maybe just a pan gravy. 

Wednesday: BBQ Meatballs, mashed potatoes and broccoli

Thursday: Chili cheese fries, fruit salad

Friday: Pizza

