It was cold this morning. COLD. Cold enough for the thermostat to drop and the heater to turn on. Cold enough that there was a light covering of dew still on the car at almost 9am. Cold enough that all of the kids put on jackets this morning. Jackets that I am sure will be left at school this afternoon as the morning low of 50 turns to an afternoon high of 80.

Oh, the seasons, they are a changing. Isn’t that how the song goes? Not that we really had that much of a summer here. Most of what we would call “summer” consisted of high temperatures in the high 80’s to mid 90’s. We didn’t get a 100 degree day until after the kids had returned to school when their summer was over and even that “heat wave” only lasted one week.

This fall like weather has me thinking about ways to stay warm, because I think that I am part reptile or something. The temperature dips even slightly and I am instantly freezing. Ready for gloves, or tea or hot coffee to keep me warm.

Mmmmm coffee… Nothing says fall like a nice hot Pumpkin Spice Latte. There are many, many Starbucks in my town. In fact I believe that I pass a total of 4 on my less than 1/2 a mile drive to work every day. One of them is a drive through. Alas, the drive through is new, almost on the grounds of the elementary school and now that school is back in, notorious for a loooooooooong line in the morning. I decided one day last week after seeing a post from Confections of a Foodie Bride on Facebook about homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte’s that I would give it a whirl myself.

Now, I didn’t go all out and make the salted caramel sauce, however after Kevin reads this, it may be a request. We also don’t use whipped cream for the daily coffee, but I do think that it would make for a nice weekend treat. So maybe mine isn’t much of a latte after all – fresh brewed hot coffee, a generous helping of pumpkin spice syrup and some half and half – but it is tasty, slightly indulgent and makes my drive past the busy Starbucks every morning just slightly more tolerable.

